Bookmark and Share

Contents of this page:
Signers of Declaration of Independence.
Signers of the Constitution.
• Delegates to the Constitutional Convention that did not sign.
Signers of the Declaration of Independence

John Hancock
Samuel Adams
John Adams
Robert Treat Paine
Elbridge Gerry
New Hampshire
Josiah Bartlett
William Whipple
Matthew Thornton
Rhode Island
Stephen Hopkins
William Ellery
Roger Sherman
Samuel Huntington
William Williams
Oliver Wolcott
New York
William Floyd
Philip Livingston
Francis Lewis
Lewis Morris
New Jersey
Richard Stockton
John Witherspoon
Francis Hopkinson
John Hart
Abraham Clark
Robert Morris
Benjamin Rush
Benjamin Franklin
John Morton
George Clymer
James Smith
George Taylor
James Wilson
George Ross
Caesar Rodney
George Read
Thomas M'Kean
Samuel Chase
William Paca
Thomas Stone
Charles Carrol
George Wythe
Richard Henry Lee
Thomas Jefferson
Benjamin Harrison
Thomas Nelson, Jr.
Francis Lightfoot Lee
Carter Braxton
North Carolina
William Hooper
Joseph Hewes
John Penn
South Carolina
Edward Rutledge
Thomas Heyward
Thomas Lynch
Arthur Middleton
Button Gwinnett
Lyman Hall
George Walton

Also see Signers and Their Fates

Do you want to find yourself a beautiful American-made home? Ever think of seriously looking into purchasing  modular homes for your next move? Find this and more at Homesite including modular home loans programs that can get you in the home you desire fast and easy! Homesite can help you find the manufactured homes you are looking for today, without the annoying sales pitches that other companies give you! Visit Homesite today and get in a new home tomorrow!

Signers of the Constitution

39 delegates (of 55) who signed the Constitution.
[Number of delegates indicated by each state.]

George Washington (VA) signed as President of the Convention.

New Hampshire [2]
John Langdon
Nicholas Gilman
Massachusetts [4]
Rufus King
Nathaniel Gorham
Connecticut [3]
Roger Sherman
William Samuel Johnson
New York [3]
Alexander Hamilton
New Jersey [5]
William Livingston
David Brearley
William Patterson
Jonathan Dayton
Pennsylvania [8]
Benjamin Franklin
Thomas Mifflin
Robert Morris
George Clymer
Thomas FitzSimons
Jared Ingersoll
James Wilson
Gouverneur Morris
Delaware [5]
George Read
Gunning Bedford, Jr.
John Dickinson
Richard Bassett
Jacob Broom
Maryland [5]
James McHenry
Daniel Carroll
Dan of St. Thomas Jenifer
Virginia [7]
John Blair
James Madison
and, G. Washington
North Carolina [5]
William Blount
Richard Dobbs Spaight
Hugh Williamson
South Carolina [4]
John Rutledge
Charles Cotesworth Pinckney
Charles Pinckney
Pierce Butler
Georgia [4]
William Few
Abraham Baldwin

Rhode Island did not send any Delegates.

Attended Convention: Did Not Sign Constitution

16 Delegates to the Convention who did not sign Constitution.
[Number of delegates indicated by each state.]

New Hampshire [2]
Both signed
Massachusetts [4]
Elbridge Gerry
Caleb Strong
Connecticut [3]
Oliver Ellsworth
New York [3]
John Lansing, Jr.
Robert Yates
New Jersey [5]
William C. Houston
Pennsylvania [8]
All 8 signed
Delaware [5]
All 5 signed
Maryland [5]
Luther Martin
John F. Mercer
Rhode Island [0]
Virginia [7]
George Mason
James McClurg
Edmund Randolph
George Wythe
North Carolina [5]
William R. Davie
Alexander Martin
South Carolina [4]
All 4 signed
Georgia [4]
William Houstoun
William L. Pierce

Note: States with at least one delegate present had one vote each. The Convention had been called by Congress, so the delegates that went home were actually abstaining from voting within their state's caucuses. Therefore, the final vote to approve the draft and send it to Congress was 12-0. Congress then sent it to the state legislatures for ratification (or rejection). Ratification required 9 states. The Constitution went into effect with ratification by New Hampshire on June 21, 1788, leaving New York, North Carolina, Virginia and Rhode Island out in the cold. But Virginia got on board June 25 and New York a month later. However, North Carolina delayed 17 months and Rhode Island nearly two years before they came in from the cold.

Notes on the Constitutional Convention:
-- Some delegates left early due to illness, frustration, business emergencies, or they returned home to complain to their legislatures.
-- Like Rhode Island, New York saw no need for a convention but NY sent delegates at the last minute. However, only Hamilton stayed and signed although he objected to the failure of the proposed "plan" to call for a stronger central government. Hamilton saw no need for state legislatures! Its safe to say that he preferred something closer to a pure democracy over a strong republic.
-- Thomas Jefferson was not a delegate because he was serving as emissary to France. But, as a courtesy, he received a copy of the final document before it went to the states.

SOURCE (unless otherwise indicated):
Biographies of the Signers of D.O.I. from the 1829 book,
Lives of the Signers to the Declaration of Independence
by the Rev. Charles A. Goodrich
[Some editing was done to bios to correct obvious errors.
Also an effort was made to modernize some spelling.]

Sources of others indicated on respective pages.
Some information was taken from:
Marshall, James V.
The United States Manual of Biography and History.
Philadelphia: James B. Smith & Co., 1856.

Bookmark and Share

Home Page

© 1999-2009 Concord Learning Systems, Concord, NC. All rights reserved.
Contact: FrankLaughter [at] gmail [dot] com